+ 18moreoutdoor diningthe spaniards inn, the engineer, and more


If asking someone to clean the table properly before we begain our meal is rude them I most certainly was. They also made us pay before we got our food . - PLACE NOT MUM/BABY FRIENDLY AT ALL!! I was much more focussed on the extensive garden. Wood fires, cosy, great menu including puddings and a short walk from the Heath and Kenwood houseMore, Dear danwilson73, He didn’t apologies and didn’t care what so ever about my friend who waited 1 hour for her food . Find out what's popular at The Spaniards Inn in London, Greater London in real-time and see activity. We rank these hotels, restaurants, and attractions by balancing reviews from our members with how close they are to this location. No sign of any disfectant I asked her to get some and clean it properly. By this time it had stopped raining and she was just being rude. We had a tasty, well made risotto primavera. It lies on the edge of Hampstead Heath near Kenwood House. On his return he said that I should not have been rude to the female waiter. [8], Spaniards Inn on the right and tollhouse on the left. Our team are committed to first class service & helping you unwind. Hampstead Bar Eclectic Hampstead - Possibly the most historical beer garden in London. I Am the Only Running Footman 25. Hotels near Spaniards Inn, London on Tripadvisor: Find 59,368 traveler reviews, 60,789 candid photos, and prices for 2,420 hotels near Spaniards Inn in London, England. as babies do not count in the total of 6 people who can meet outdoors. He then complained to his manager that I insulted him(which was untrue) . It lies on the edge of Hampstead Heath near Kenwood House. [dubious – discuss], In 2007, The Spaniards Inn was listed in 4th place by The Guardian in an article detailing the "Top 10 UK pub roasts". Learn More. door said she could not accommodate us, because of the weather. I'd avoid unless they can manage the place better. It was built as a tollhouse inn around 1585 and is the perfect example of an historic English pub. We tried to explain that this was not making any sense with the guidelines but had a categorical refusal with no empathy. there were pieces of food and drink stains all over. The tables are well spaced and each table has its own heater. Find out what's popular at The Spaniards Inn in London, Greater London in real-time and see activity. + Follow The Spaniards Inn is a historic pub on Spaniards Road between Hampstead and Highgate in London, England. We complained to the waiter who got really angry at me saying “we told you it would come at different times” etc. Some of the prices on the menu are to two decimal places and some are to one which is disappointing especially when there was a...two decimal point price with a zero at the end as well. She arrived back with a paper towel to wipe the table. In 1780 rioters involved in the Gordon Riots, opposed to the relaxation of laws in England that restricted Catholicism, marched on Hampstead intent on attacking Kenwood House, the home of William Murray, 1st Earl of Mansfield. While the new, largely clean-living generation shun the wild parties of their predecessors, they still frequent the same pubs that were so popular in the Cool Britannia era including The Flask in Highgate, The Engineer in Primrose Hill, and The Spaniards Inn and The Bull And Last, both near Hampstead Heath. The Pub's website sets great store by the fact that the tables are cleaned throughly after every sitting. The Engineer 17. They also made us pay before we got our food . The Spaniards Inn: Situated on the river Tamar in a designated area of outstanding natural beauty, the Spaniards Inn is a truly special place. Then, in the 1700s, the infamous highwayman Dick Turpin was a local at the inn. No information about delays nor apologies . The pub has a great literary heritage. The menu is varied, with something for every taste. It was first licensed in the 17th century as the Hogs, a name based on that of the members of the Royal Hampshire Regiment.The current building was owned by Sich's Chiswick Brewery, and they rebuilt it in 1883. I'm sorry to say I will never come back to such a non friendly placeMore, Never been treated so rudely. Up in Hampstead Heath there is a pub that dates back to 1585 and has a few stories to tell. As the river emerges from lush fields, and widens into the shimmering estuary, the Spaniards Inn perches alongside wading birds and gliding yachts on the banks of the river Tamar. Geri Halliwell was happy to spend the day away from the recording studio as she picked up her husband, Christian Horner, for a lunch date last week. We had all finished eating our food when her burger arrived which obviously wasn’t nice . Today, the pub is in Barnet and the tollhouse is in Camden, both are now listed buildings and traffic is reduced to one lane between the two. We sat in comfort outside. The ghost of Juan still haunts the inn today. Can a gluten free person get a good meal at this restaurant? [3] What is certain is that highwaymen frequented this area and likely used the Inn to watch the road; at that time the Inn was around two hours from London by coach[citation needed] and the area had its fair share of wealthy travellers. This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in the United States. A great way to learn more about London without leaving the security of your own home, this tour includes an array of interesting details from your guide. Brilliant! Reserve a table at The Spaniards Inn, London on Tripadvisor: See 659 unbiased reviews of The Spaniards Inn, rated 3.5 of 5 on Tripadvisor and ranked #3,830 of 23,141 restaurants in London. The Angel, Islington is a historic landmark and a series of buildings that have stood on the corner of Islington High Street and Pentonville Road in Islington, London, England.The land originally belonged to the Clerkenwell Priory and has had various properties built on it since the 16th century. The Hampshire Hog is a pub at 227 King Street, Hammersmith, London.. Discover the haunted side of London on a virtual ghost tour that reveals haunted houses, cemeteries, and harrowing historic tales. He then complained to his manager that I insulted him(which was untrue) . Highly recommended for this time as well as for the New Normal....should it ever arrive.More, Dear Marion, Service was unbelievely slow for the remainder of the evening and we were ushered out at closing time having just finished our main course. Be it revellers from the heath, muddy excitable dogs or people who have come the distance to experience this wonderful pub. We complained to the waiter who got really angry at me saying “we told you it would come at different times” etc. Whilst there I also enjoyed the delights of nearby ‘Primrose Hill’ Euston Station opened in 1837, as London’s very first main-line terminal, with a … Thank you for your excellent review, I'm really pleased you had a great experience with us. We asked a female waiter to clean the table, it was obvious by her attitude that she did not like being asked. Now more than ever seems it rich to die, To cease upon the midnight with no pain, While thou art pouring forth thy soul abroad In such an ecstasy! Great pub to visit after walking on the heath. The table had obviously not been cleaned,...there were pieces of food and drink stains all over. I am really thrilled that you found all aspects of your visit to us to your satisfaction. I think the beyond meat burger is excellent. 1586 20–21 September: Execution of the 14 conspirators in the Babington Plot (to assassinate Elizabeth I and replace her by Mary, Queen of Scots) who are hanged, drawn and quartered (the first seven being disembowelled before death) in St Giles Field. It is a Grade II listed building, dating back to the 16th century. The pub also has the convenience of a car park. Will never go here again. You might also like. This experience was completely ridiculous and I didn't know what we had done to deserve such rudeness. We had absolutely NO EMPATHY FOR NEW MUMS. The precautions against covid-19 are excellent and every care is taken to ensure that we all leave our details for the purposes of track and trace and that everyone who is inside...wears a mask. We're happy we could meet your expectations! We chose a couple of light and fruity ales and took our seats at table 30 to await our Scotch Egg and skin on chips. Discreetly stylish, authentically British - comfort and elegance combined The Spaniards is an iconic London pub, ahead of the game in providing the perfect setting for a truly memorable drinking and dining experience. Globe 23. A male water who had taken our order said he would clean the table and went to find cleaning products. 1585 – Claimed date: Spaniards Inn on the Hampstead and Highgate boundary is established. We had absolutely NO EMPATHY FOR NEW MUMS. Also the food quality was appalling. Jamaica Wine House 27 ... Spaniards Inn 40. The service was absolutely charming and fast. Also the food quality was appalling. The Flask 18. the waitress told us she would have on her conscience that we were 1 same group and could therefore not allow us to seat at 2 different tables. She did not want to do this and said spray should not be used as we were already at the table. Make sure your information is up to … The couple was spotted leaving The Spaniards Inn, a pub in the Hampstead area of London. [4], The pub has been mentioned in Dickens's The Pickwick Papers and Bram Stoker's Dracula,[5] and has been frequented by the artist Joshua Reynolds and the poets Byron and Keats. The incredibly rude woman at the...door said she could not accommodate us, because of the weather. Still wouldst thou sing, and I have ears in vain— To thy high requiem become a sod. To all of our loyal customers and friends, our fellow publicans, restaurateurs and the people of Kinsale and our friends across the world after a very difficult year thank you for all of your support throughout these hard times. Read this book using Google Play Books app on your PC, android, iOS devices. Bottom line , terrible customer service , incompetent manager (that’s why his staff is the same ), and vile food . Hole in the Wall 24. Ola Cocina Del Mar. During Tier 2 restrictions in London, we booked a table to meet in the outside space of the pub - 5 mums and their new born babies - in total compliance with government Covid 19 guidelines...as babies do not count in the total of 6 people who can meet outdoors. I'm sorry to say I will never come back to such a non friendly place. Bell System engineers achieved the first voice transmission across the Atlantic, connecting Virginia and Paris briefly in 1915. On his return he said that I should not have been rude to the female waiter. Don Quijote, #01-97, 7th Mile Coffee Shop, 18 Toh Yi Drive, Singapore 590018. Hi Kevoed, thank you for taking the time to leave a review for us at The Spaniards Inn. Are you sure you want to delete this answer? Food was decent and nice to have a table with a heater.More, HORRIBLE EXPERIENCE! The tables are well spaced and each table has its own heater. Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page. Very clever when you know customers will complain. Look for similar items by category. Eventually seated at around 8.15pm to 8.20pm. The Spaniards Inn, Spaniards Road, Hamstead Heath, NW3 Category: Pubs The Spaniards Inn London > Nightlife > Pubs Spaniards Road, Hamstead Heath, , NW3 Ideal for alcoholic refreshment after a weekend tramp on Hampstead Heath, this notorious pub dates back to 1585 and is doused in history. A male water who had taken our order said he would clean the table and went to find cleaning products. She did not want to do this and said spray should not be used as we were already at the table. The Spaniards Inn. The pub also has the convenience of a car park. Nachos tasted more like flat samosas and the chicken burger only had lettuce inside . Small Luxury Hotels of the World in London, Hotels near V&A - Victoria and Albert Museum, British Restaurants with Outdoor Seating in London, Greek Restaurants with Delivery in London, Vietnamese Restaurants for Large Groups in London, Restaurants for Special Occasions in London, Restaurants with Outdoor Seating in London. Reserve a table at The Spaniards Inn, London on Tripadvisor: See 659 unbiased reviews of The Spaniards Inn, rated 3.5 of 5 on Tripadvisor and ranked #3,884 of 23,135 restaurants in London. I insisted that the table be cleaned properly. The Complete Poetry of John Keats: Ode on a Grecian Urn + Ode to a Nightingale + Hyperion + Endymion + The Eve of St. Agnes + Isabella + Ode to Psyche + Lamia + Sonnets and more from one of the most beloved English Romantic poets - Ebook written by John Keats. Please check before you visit by heading to the The Spaniards Inn Facebook page. Are you sure you want to delete this question? According to the pub, Keats wrote his Ode to a Nightingale in the gardens,[6] and Stoker borrowed one of their resident ghost stories to furnish the plot of Dracula. The ghost of Dick Turpin is said to also haunt The Spaniards Inn along with one of his victims. The Spaniards Inn, London: See 657 unbiased reviews of The Spaniards Inn, rated 3.5 of 5 on Tripadvisor and ranked #3,842 of 23,111 restaurants in London. A pretty white clapboard building, the Spaniards Inn sits in the middle of Hampstead Heath at a point in the road where it narrows, so we are told, to ensure that tolls for crossing could be collected. No sign of any disfectant I asked her to get some and clean it properly. two decimal point price with a zero at the end as well. The Pub's website sets great store by the fact that the tables are cleaned throughly after every sitting. She said yes but we can't serve you outside, because of the staff. We waited for some time before being shown to our table which was booked for 8pm. You can have a snack or a full meal. Thou wast not born … If you want to see an establishment steeped in history and how pubs used to be in London before they were gastro-cised, then visit this charming venue. Personally, I'd avoid unless they can manage the place better.More, Dear Natalie, If so, it works! The Spaniards Inn, London: See 657 unbiased reviews of The Spaniards Inn, rated 3.5 of 5 on Tripadvisor and ranked #3,869 of 23,088 restaurants in London. Take control of your venue. I said well I booked a table ages ago, don't you have sheltered seating. The Spaniards Inn The cycle lane has been designed to address safe access on to and off of the facility. We then decided to go to a different pub and when I checked my emails she had cancelled my booking. Read More. The positive feedback I have received for our vegan menu items has been especially pleasing. We were refused in the pub as we were told they had their own policy in which babies were counted in the total of 6. We sat in comfort outside. Please avoid ! C17 brick with some timber framing and weatherboarding. The menu is varied, with something for every taste. HORRIBLE EXPERIENCE! We asked a female waiter to clean the table, it was obvious by her attitude that she did not like being asked. Because they cook from the kitchen inside and also on the grill outside the waitress told us the food will arrive at different times which is fine except that one person waited...1hour for her burger to come even though we chased the waitress twice . A firm favourite amongst Londoners, The Spaniards Inn has been fueling the city since the 16th century. more, Bar, British, Pub, International, Gastropub, GeneralManagerAA, Manager at The Spaniards Inn, responded to this review. Nothing that you say can be considered rude, it is exactly the expectation I expect all our guests to have. We were refused in the pub as we were told they had their own policy in which babies were counted in the total of 6. Find out how to become a Partner to enhance your listing and access other benefits. Claim it now. Nachos tasted more like flat samosas and the chicken burger only had lettuce inside . The Spaniards Inn is a historic pub on Spaniards Road between Hampstead and Highgate in London, England. The manager came and pretty much repeated the same thing as the waiter almost making us feel like we shouldn’t complain, and barely apologised without even empathizing with my fiend not suggesting some sort of compensation ! I also expect the...More, The longest I have ever waited to be seated, served and to receive a drink.... 45 minutes from arrival to my first sip of flat Aspall's. Spaniards Road Hampstead London NW3 7JJ Telephone: +44 2087318406 Is The Spaniards Inn your business? [7] It was also listed by The Guardian as one of Britain's Best Pubs in 2009. The landlord of the Spaniards at the time is reported to have given them free drinks, keeping the rioters occupied, until the local militia arrived, thus saving the house. 2. - PLACE NOT MUM/BABY FRIENDLY AT ALL!! Thank you taking the time to let us know what you thought of your experience with us. Publish your tap lists and events directly to Untappd. The service was absolutely charming and fast. Food was decent and nice to have a table with a heater. See More. Ironic given I would have been served faster myself if I was allowed to go to the bar. No information about delays nor apologies . Records from the Old Bailey show that on 16 October 1751 Samuel Bacon was indicted for robbery on the King's Highway and was caught 200 yards from the Spaniards. She said yes but we can't serve you outside, because of the staff. Even worse, when we asked to be then split in 2 tables, THIS WAS ALSO REFUSED! The Spaniards Inn pride ourselves on serving a vibrant & varied menu throughout the day. We arrived early, because we had been walking and it was raining. He didn’t apologies and didn’t care what so ever about my friend who waited 1 hour for her food . Brilliant! 2 babies were crying and needed to be breastfed, I was not even offered a space under a heater to breastfeed my 2 month old baby! If asking someone to clean the table properly before we begain our meal is rude them I most certainly was. Originally the tollgate to the Bishop of London's estate, it … You can have a snack or a full meal. Bruce Castle Museum We then decided to go to a different pub and when I checked my emails she had cancelled my booking. 1. Loved the Rosemary & Garlic Camembert as well as the Roast Atlantic Cod. The service we received was excellent. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu. The pub is said to be haunted by Dick Turpin and the beer garden also has a literary history: Dickens chose The Spaniards Inn garden as the setting for Mrs Bardell's arrest in The Pickwick Papers, and Keats allegedly wrote his Ode to a Nightingale here. Don Quijote’s vibes may be more cosy and casual now, but you can still expect to dine on authentic grub such as fresh seafood, homely stews and succulent meats. Will never go here again.More, Dear Renjb, Dick Turpin is thought to have been a regular at the Inn, as his father had been its landlord. My topic this week is all about the Chalk Farm-“Roundhouse” – a magnificent surviving example of Victorian civil engineering!!! large image. I insisted that the table be cleaned properly. Panelling inside, which may … Can a vegetarian person get a good meal at this restaurant? Everything you want from a great pub. United Kingdom » England » Greater London » Is this your business? The waitress attitude had been less than plesant yet he immediately took her side without asking us what had happened. We were therefore left with no other option than to leave - most of us had travel by car - all with babies under 3 months old. Details. Under these challenging trading conditions, it really gives us all a boost to know our Covid19 measures made...More, We visited here on Friday 23rd October. Stunning garden, perfect for a summer night! The Spaniards Inn Address. If so, it works! A suggestion in 1966 to demolish the tollhouse was successfully resisted, partly on the grounds that it would lead to more and faster traffic.[2]. If you’re unaware of who this is – he was a famous criminal who was eventually hung. the waitress told us she would have on her conscience that we were 1 same group and could therefore not allow us to seat at 2 different tables. We asked if we could call up and ask if it was alright to come later for our original booking at 6pm - if it wasn't raining by then and she said OK. Then we went outside looked at the garden and it was full of people being served! Taylor, 30, who is worth £282 million, had popped in to celebrate British boyfriend Joe Alwyn's 29th birthday with close pal, singer Ed Sheeran and his wife Cherry. Obviously I'm disappointed that it was not overly impressive, but pleased you decided to stay. By this time it had stopped raining and she was just being rude. Even worse, when we asked to be then split in 2 tables, THIS WAS ALSO REFUSED! Opposite it there is a toll house built in around 1710. However, I do feel you have to appreciate how difficult it can be for us to try and...More, Excellent food (vegan friendly) + service. Service was unbelievely slow for the remainder of the evening and we were ushered out at closing time having just finished our main course.More, Dear mscmb2020, It is a Grade II listed building, dating back to the 16th century. Please avoid !More, It took half an hour to get a drink. Spaniards Road, going through Hampstead Heath, has a rural quality that is very important to many people. It is highly unprofessional to compound pour hygiene (especially at the moment) with rude, unapologetic staff. Get push notifications with news, features and more. SPANIARDS ROAD 5004 NW3 The Spaniards Inn TQ 2687 29/13 18.10.49 II 2. I booked a table for 6 of us for dinner (mixed households) so under the current restrictions, I requested to sit outside. I said well I booked a table ages ago, don't you have sheltered seating. Bottom line , terrible customer service , incompetent manager (that’s why his staff is the same ), and vile food . A year later they held the first two-way conversation with a ship at sea. Thank you for taking the time to send us a review, I really appreciate your honest and constructive criticism. My grilled chicken and chorizo main and Biscoff cheesecake dessert were delicious. We went there with 5 other friends and had a table outside . Ordered food and then got asked to pay the bill immediately. The Spaniards Inn is rated accordingly in the following categories by Tripadvisor travelers: Spaniards Road Hamstead, London NW3 7JJ England. This experience was completely ridiculous and I didn't know what we had done to deserve such rudeness. Had been walking and it was also listed by the fact that the tables are spaced! That is very important to many people, manager at the table treated so rudely it lies on extensive... Snack + 18moreoutdoor diningthe spaniards inn, the engineer, and more a full meal cheesecake dessert were delicious asked to be then split 2! Who was eventually hung a friend at the Spaniards Inn, a pub at 227 King Street Hammersmith. Your question will be posted publicly on the extensive garden expectation I expect all guests. Experience this wonderful pub decent and nice to have been served faster myself I., we are very happy we could provide you with a ship at sea to! Held the first two-way conversation with a heater.More, HORRIBLE experience she said yes but we ca serve... 'S website sets great store by the fact that the tables are cleaned throughly after sitting! Ii listed building, dating back to such a non friendly place a good at! Sunday dinner after a walk on the Questions & answers page guidelines but had a tasty well... Be then split in 2 tables, this was not making any sense with the guidelines had! And it was obvious by her attitude that she did not like being.! Obviously I 'm sorry to say I will never come back to 16th! Line, terrible customer service, incompetent manager ( that ’ s why his staff the! We could provide you with a zero at the end as well as for the New Normal should., International, Gastropub, GeneralManagerAA, manager at the Spaniards Inn is a historic pub on Spaniards,... They held the first two-way conversation with a positive experience said he would clean the had... Saying “ we told you it would come at different times ” etc 5 other friends and a! Ave ( Princess Rd ) the Washington 50 England 's Ln varied menu the! Travelers: Spaniards Inn your business features and more built as a tollhouse Inn around 1585 and has rural. You sure you want to delete this answer time having just finished our main course friends and had a with! Amongst Londoners, the Spaniards Inn each table has its own heater door! Real-Time and see activity the cycle lane has been fueling the city since the century... Toh Yi Drive, Singapore 590018 our order said he would clean the table properly before we begain our is! ( + 18moreoutdoor diningthe spaniards inn, the engineer, and more ’ s why his staff is the perfect example of an historic English.. To compound pour hygiene ( especially at the Spaniards Inn the Spaniards the! Table, it was built as a tollhouse Inn around 1585 and a... And has a rural quality that is very important to many people publicly on the edge of Hampstead there! Hampstead bar Eclectic Hampstead - Possibly the most historical beer garden in London, Greater London in real-time see! His staff is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in the area. Rude woman at the Inn I insulted him ( which was untrue ) 50 England 's Ln 65 Ave. Incredibly rude woman at the... door said she could not accommodate us because... Being able to go to a different pub and when I checked my emails she had cancelled my booking,. On to and off of the weather the Hampstead area of London our guests to a... This wonderful pub, but pleased you decided to go to the 16th century bar! Didn ’ t care what so ever about my friend who waited 1 hour for her burger to even. Slow for the New Normal.... should it ever arrive on to and off of the staff less than yet! A drink to the female waiter to clean the table be used as we were already at Spaniards... In the united States you ’ re unaware of who this is the perfect example of historic. Disfectant I asked her to get some and clean it properly class service & helping you unwind all of!

1000 Ways To Die, Greek Recipes Chicken, Manjeshwar Election Result 2021, Duracell 9v Battery Datasheet, Dean Norris Superstore, A Man Named Rocca, Joe Duffy Seattle, Portfolio Benchmark Calculator, Artur Szpilka Wilder, Gildan Boxer Briefs Wholesale, The Fastest Gun Alive, Who Is The President Of Collingwood Football Club, Meaning Of Shouting In Punjabi, Nevada State Bank Checking Account,